Career Shadowing

Career Shadowing

Career Shadowing Week is a specially arranged experience that introduces students to the workplace and to career opportunities available in Blair County. Coordinated by the BASICS Subcommittee on Career Development and the Blair County Chamber of Commerce, Career Shadowing enables students to:

  • Visit particular worksites
  • Link with designated employees
  • Obtain information related to the students' career interests

The program reorganizes that shadowing is a significant experience in guiding students to make an informed career choice. The Subcommittee on Career Development consists of approximately 25 businesses and school representatives, including "school contacts" specifically designated by the Superintendents of the seven Blair County school districts.

Resources

School District Contacts

Altoona Area School District
Jarrod Klausman
814.505.1450
jklausman@altoonasd.com
Bellwood-Antis School District
Dani McNelis
814.742.2275
dmcnelis@blwd.k12.pa.us
Claysburg-Kimmel School District
Kelly Hinkledire
814.239.5141
khinkledire@cksd.k12pa.us
Hollidaysburg Area School District
Linda Hilling
814.695.4416
linda.hilling@tigerwires.com
Hollidaysburg Area School District
Jay Baker
814.695.4416
jay.baker@hasdtigers.com
Spring Cove School District
Jessie Gordon
814.793.2111
jgordon@springcovesd.org
Tyrone Area School District
Amanda Burega
814.684.4240
atburega@tyrone.k12.pa.us
Williamsburg Community School District
Carrie Loose
814.832.2125
cloose@williamsburg.k12.pa.us

Career Shadowing Subcommittee Co-Chairs

Judy Rossi
814.695.0433
djrossi1@verizon.net
Leanne Sidney
814.329.3694
go3bikes@gmail.com